Article Text

other Versions

Detection of ‘Candidatus Mycoplasma haemobos’, Mycoplasma wenyonii and Anaplasma phagocytophilum from cattle in England
  1. R. D. Ayling, PhD, FSB1,
  2. S. Bisgaard-Frantzen, MSc, BSc1,
  3. A. Adler, BVM&S, MBA, MRCVS2,
  4. R. W. Blowey, BSc, BVSc, FRCVS3,
  5. A. M. Barlow, BVSc, MSc, MRCVS4,
  6. M. F. Millar, BVSc, MRCVS4 and
  7. G. M. van der Burgt, MRCVS5
  1. AHVLA (Weybridge), Woodham Lane, Addlestone, Surrey KT15 3NB, UK
  2. Synergy Farm Health Limited, West Hill Barn, West Hill, Dorchester DT2 0LD, UK
  3. Wood Veterinary Group, 125 Bristol Road, Gloucester GL2 4NB, UK
  4. AHVLA (Langford), Langford House, Langford, Bristol BS40 5DX, UK
  5. AHVLA (Luddington), Luddington, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 9SJ, UK
  1. E-mail for correspondence Roger.Ayling{at}

Statistics from

This is the first identification of ‘Candidatus Mycoplasma haemobos’ from cattle in England some of which were co-infected with Mycoplasma wenyonii and Anaplasma phagocytophilum. Haemotropic mycoplasmas (haemoplasmas) were formerly classified within the order Rickettsiales as Haemobartonella and Eperythrozoon species. Based on their 16S ribosomal gene sequences, lack of cell wall and resistance to penicillin, these red blood cell parasites have been reclassified within the genus Mycoplasma (Neimark and others 2001).

A number of different haemoplasma species have been described in cattle: Eperythrozoon wenyonii (Adler and Ellenbogen 1934), ‘Eperythrozoon teganodes’ (Hoyte 1962) and ‘Eperythrozoon tuomii’ (Uilenberg 1967), although only E wenyonii was included in the 1980 approved list of bacterial names (Hoelzle and others 2010). More recently, molecular detection of a new bovine haemoplasma species has been reported in a number of countries (Tagawa and others 2008, Hornok and others 2010, Meli and others 2010, Su and others 2010, Hoelzle and others 2011) and the provisional name ‘Candidatus Mycoplasma haemobos’ (synonym: ‘Candidatus M haemobovis’) has been proposed for this organism.

Anaplasma phagocytophilum is the recently designated name replacing three species of granulocytic bacteria, Ehrlichia phagocytophila, Ehrlichia equi and the agent of human granulocytic ehrlichiosis (Ismail and others 2010, Woldehiwet 2010). Tick-borne fever (TBF), which is caused by the prototype of A phagocytophilum has been recognised as a disease of cattle …

View Full Text

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.